Language Programs

UNM offers language instruction in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Navajo, Portuguese, Russian, Sign Language (American), and Spanish. These programs are housed in three departments: Languages, Cultures, & Literatures (LCL), Spanish & Portuguese, and Linguistics. 

Additionally, the Latin American & Iberian Institute offers classes in Nahuatl and Quechua. See here for more information.

The Africana Studies department offers classes in Swahili. See here for more information.

If you would like more information about courses and degrees in these languages, please contact the appropriate faculty advisor listed below.

LCL Programs
LCL ProgramsAdvisor NameAdvisor Email
Director of Undergraduate StudiesJason Wilbyjwilby@unm.edu
ArabicEmma Trentmanetrentman@unm.edu
ChinesePeng Yupyu@unm.edu
Classical StudiesOsman Umurhanumurhan@unm.edu
Comparative Literature & Cultural StudiesRajeshwari Valluryrvallury@unm.edu
East Asian StudiesLorie Braulbrau@unm.edu
FrenchStephen Bishopsbishop@unm.edu
GermanKatrin Schroeterkaddisch@gmail.com
GreekLorenzo Garcia, Jr.lfgarcia@unm.edu
ItalianRachele Dukerduke@unm.edu
Japanese Lorie Braulbrau@unm.edu
LanguagesJason Wilbyjwilby@unm.edu
LatinOsman Umurhanumurhan@unm.edu
Russian and Russian StudiesTanya Ivanova-Sullivantivanova@unm.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spanish & Portuguese Programs
Spanish & Portuguese ProgramsAdvisor NameAdvisor Email
Spanish as a Foreign LanguageEva Rodriguez Gonzalezevarg@unm.edu
Spanish as a Heritage Language Damián Vergara Wilsondamianvw@unm.edu
PortugueseJessica Carey-Webbjcareywebb@unm.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linguistics Programs
Linguistics ProgramsAdvisor NameAdvisor Email
LinguisticsRosa Vallejosrvallejos@unm.edu
Signed Language InterpretingDawn Myersdcmd@unm.edu
Navajo LanguageMelvatha Cheemchee@unm.edu